Do I need more light?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luananeko

Aquarium Advice Addict
My 40g breeder tank has been running for around 2 months now, and I'm still struggling with getting the plants to thrive like they were in my 75g tank... They keep dropping leaves and having issues with various types of algae. I'm using the same ferts as I do in my 75g, but this is my first time using LEDs (the 75g has a T5HO fixture). Here's the tank stats:

40g breeder:
Dual Hydro V sponge filters
36" Fluval Full Spectrum LED light
21" Marineland Hidden LED strip
78F temp
Split photo period - 10am-2pm and 4pm-8pm
Dosing with excel daily
Flourish complete 1x weekly
50% water changes weekly

Plants-
- Hygro Sunset (only one doing well atm)
- Hygro difformis
- Hygro compact
- Hygro pinnatifida
- Limnophila Aromatica
- Red Tiger Lotus
- Brazilian Pennywort
- Water lettuce
- Dwarf Pennywort
- Staurogyne repens
- Fissidens Fontanus

Do I need more light so they can outcompete the algae? Am I not dosing ferts correctly (I do the same type of schedule on my 75g where things were flourishing before)? Any other ideas? I'm really scratching my head at this one.

That's not alot of light lu.. sorry, those fluval leds are pretty weak.. any money in the lighting budget?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

That's not alot of light lu.. sorry, those fluval leds are pretty weak.. any money in the lighting budget?