My unfortunate tale from Ranchu to African Cichlids keeper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FlyingLime

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am fairly new to fish keeping. I used to keep goldfish - particularly ranchu goldfish in my 120cm (4ft) aquarium.

It happened when I decided to put a layer of soil under the sand I had in the tank, and place some plants. It looked really good, but that's when the fish started dying.

Sadly, all 8 of them died from what I presume is disease. I tried to salvage what ranchu I could, but the only 1 I managed to save got dropsy and... Well, you know how dropsy is.

So I've had some experience with ranchus for about a year.

It's been a few months since my fish were wiped out, and I wanted to get a couple oscar fish to live in my 4ft tank.

So I worked a full 8 hours at home, separating sand from soiled (learned the hard way never to mix them). Finally, I filled my 2ft tank with just a couple inches of soil, filled it up with plants. The 4ft tank was back to just plain sand. I let both the tanks cycle for a couple of days and went to the aquarium shop.

I saw a new arrival of cardinal tetras, and immediately got the lot - 30 of them. I knew I must have them in my 2ft tank!

I looked around for their oscars, but they only had 1, in a small 2ft tank, all the way on the ground. The water was barely high enough to cover him, and he was swimming... Sideways. I felt terrible for the poor thing. It was a white and yellow oscar, beautiful fella. My heart broke when I saw him and thought I should just head home.

But that's when I saw them - with the new arrivals. African cichlids. Along with the cardinals, I told the shopkeeper I wanted the cichlids. All of them.

So now my 2ft tank has 30 cardinal tetras, with a simple sponge filter and a bunch of plants.